Hi to anyone reading this.
I have had an email today from someone who wants to offer me a job as an Accounts Payable Clerk. Obviously someone wants a money mule. Full or part-time. One odd thing – they actually addressed me by my full name in the email. So here is the email, the English looks OK but it is obviously a dodgy email. If you want to learn more about money mules I suggest having a look at Brian Krebs excellent blog, http://krebsonsecurity.com. Well worth it. No my name is not Firstname Lastname, I just changed it. For the more technically minded and curious the headers are after the email, at the bottom.
Hello Mr Firstname Lastname:
See below the job opportunities currently available:
Recent Jobs: Accounts Payable Clerk
We have a current opening for a full time or part-time{depending on the individual case}
Location: All UK Locations
Category: Finance
Minimum Education/Experience Required:(No Experience Required*)
Our Jobs are available to any person who is:
a)Male / Female, Age 18 years old or above
b)Above-average oral and written communication skills
(English; written & verbal)
c)Willing to start asap!
*We offer:
a) Free Education and Training Courses
b)Accounts Payable Clerk Program-APC02
ANNUAL BASE SALARY:
FULL TIME :£22660+
PART-TIME :£18650+
Email back and We will send you an email with information on how to continue.
HR Manager
Tanya Glover
BVF Internship Group
Headers :
From: – Wed Oct 12 15:11:48 2011
X-Account-Key: account4
X-UIDL: AIa97k0AAAVgTpWNKwD1WFFsbjk
X-Mozilla-Status: 0003
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
X-Mozilla-Keys:
X-Apparently-To: nnn@nnn via 77.238.189.134; Wed, 12 Oct 2011 12:50:51 +0000
Received-SPF: none (domain of bvfgroup.net does not designate permitted sender hosts)
X-YMailISG: JtcSRWMWLDuPzMFmihqlMSx12J_RMM.oGWM2_GObDAZl80Fy wjRZR4xVxjsvB2CmvChNEf2dd.PXtvAjvAH_O_HhSYweRXSa6wPxWXCpJ8dm IIRrCcqmgSFpwAu3PIeJJztg9ENQoU90HvowGnGwPDOzVpfGk0I.cPrvyaUS 8JAndaGaXezKQglcpUdMqv9ScwWxgbK0T6ckzFweWF6XQIVddqwc8HiW6SdX G5nIXs3i.q9hQRB.eKGP1bjVzVZ_LmepGSOs6B4.z3gydUMP.va1Z3tVv.6P lEcU00SJx2ZjDQs5urZn7wE9Djmo78zBwC27n6iO0igBkMcTbmfDShuIXore pCvUknARtubBd918ctNwZZXldJas3yWYl8HrkvgPGncxHgf_DHW.0AItlIOB 9Bv4coV6k80jVRm3Pb8LueTNyMs6PIQIy4mDb0lgY5bNrbzhP97w0zWPe0mh CvksuNYIXAExd.Wzo8Q4cWbEqwBcBJqzqdl.Co4aXREU.mJ6CwulLMZWSW14 RWe791ayuNx_BTrc3BFrBaFcWTL2Mrmwi0pHVCZWvgbAtsUm_YvWDY9W0g4W 216bJosGCBn7COJXJKBt_j339YWp3OLvZyTnjSDNmuvzk7SMRxRDdq.VFvKV Kg8_WpyuwrF0elPW5cX7uoI7c3nNxVstcJdKwYIzOp2SgXVunzp3_ZGNU9Lr S2LOhp.62Ui9efhw_abFQPWxZD3OD9ALKm5U35r5FZEUQATKqldWkpr90P_3 pIOhQpDCzVnKvmxufpU9ZnQqmCrIUMVlDl0OKMzjPFtmVNU1duQ6yxjnR3wm hCkb6ukuEkJpo8XEwMSXhx5ASzaPVbCo2wjP8kWrVBMmn3mMArhoZlu09q6o qoCPEcvvusSJPL6OCy6fygI8tdVwJXaUXJNa3WNexk9uzkPak7nMBiGeJJvZ PsTIoHXmvygy4J2LzTvuv3zHhvnZ3_vqZTa2bs4FtigfLvpdPavfoiPVHtyr WidjDKLYHFgmMEzWWz9vwiU1FVKScUfBSHGLOfmD7TMpR_R2B2tr0iSVq82W IfVKcN.lWN8M1MLwv1QELsfKhkdm6q7hSDXiRf_mogMjnEnda_prUNW17gC4 YQaMzkWgwFy6lgw-
X-Originating-IP: [98.139.213.136]
Authentication-Results: mta1089.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=bvfgroup.net; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=yahoo.com; dkim=pass (ok)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (HELO nm11-vm0.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com) (98.139.213.136) by mta1089.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 12 Oct 2011 12:50:50 +0000
Received: from [98.139.212.152] by nm11.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12 Oct 2011 12:50:50 -0000
Received: from [98.139.212.210] by tm9.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12 Oct 2011 12:50:50 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp1019.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 12 Oct 2011 12:50:50 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 146786.83107.bm@omp1019.mail.bf1.yahoo.com
Received: (qmail 28937 invoked from network); 12 Oct 2011 12:50:49 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=yahoo.com; s=s1024; t=1318423849; bh=CI8DnZMeFu3uWCLjma5NZ31NqxsKSaDBS9kYZN4sRj4=; h=X-Yahoo-Newman-Property:X-YMail-OSG:X-Yahoo-SMTP:Received:Date:From:Organization:To:Message-ID:Subject:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=ZDeiasVW/yv5vFeOGlQnpE/TjrdQSYCKVBkPfHY9HALGAbCxRQI1oxewZIVJxpz/lMn4V7IPK0I6FMeHd75meaKoZ/VbnzvOfXKTda3wsWaAJ/6CSPXyTCvhT/zqEd4PXJeCiWvPxhaGy6rrMuTB083N9rTVbwOSQ5gGuEV+7XU=
X-YMail-OSG: TwA2OsAVM1mcOIGlLPFBe5bBiSksuNn8uHvX.DFstgpv7BK d1Q_Ij9NyDZwkgrmMhhpLhK8yIa6A7pld3AEYOCjklsm6WL5KIpBssrA7WM0 03yvGrnu34U2kwHPY7gk_TYBeRMY1Jk3X8xkBqsSEEtQ7Ce8AE6Z3OWcM5fH KdE5NB52bV_cxWnK_tOJGdNpx5SWndJKl8IkBAdjVG7XkeNdVrc0eQ5WZDaC PBqoh3UPe3r2PTSL0hI52ko.KqI.0a33rQePyo0SBW4VblMzG8hA76u6yRKr HVupyit3qq5tI7JaxbZ62g2duHsk_zzYaPDkWxr43R8HCSXhcQ7bG1Xr0wz7 jWBEerMYLoGLl3XWlIHKzdHftak4QRlJ8OHhoefkJnIy6XQpSnw–
X-Yahoo-SMTP: tnWndQmswBA8_ZAyJQetwV5x_lYJDNaK9fdmiQ–
Received: from [68.142.200.11] (office@77.100.247.80 with plain) by smtp114.biz.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; 12 Oct 2011 05:50:48 -0700 PDT
Date: Wed, 12 Oct 2011 10:42:58 +0100
From: Tanya Glover <office@bvfgroup.net>
Organization: BVF Internship Group
To: Mr nnn nnn <nnn@nnn>
Message-ID: <785517467.20111012104258@bvfgroup.net>
Subject: For Mr nnn nnn: Look for available job opportunities
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html
My friend received an email from this company too. Looks a bit fishy to me.
I’ve received EXACTLY same email day before yesterday.
Just too good to be true…
I’ve received the same email yesterday, I asked them to send me more details as I am currently looking for a job and in the application form they ask me my bank details and don’t really ask for my previous experiences. I think it’s pretty dodgy!!
I got this, applied, gave them old bank deetz in which never used,
They gave me £300 and I had to transfer £250 to Ukraine via. Post office,
I don’t know what to think tbh
Did you keep the receipt for it, did you do it online or in person ??
I received the same email as did my brother. I replied and got forms asking for bank details. I sent a reply asking for the full company details and office phone number so I can ensure it’s a genuine offer. Whether or not I get a reply to this I do not as yet know………
Dan if they made you transfer money to another account, they are probably scamming other people and using your account to do it so when they get caught, you’ll have 2 pay that £300 back to the people they stole it from.
I got the same email and I found it odd that they asked me for my bank details and the fact that they don’t require any experience is very strange, i’ve been searching for jobs for about a month now and every place you need at least a little bit of experience or qualification in a similar field of work.
Ive just given these guys my account and sort code numbers… I am I fucked?
i have given them my bank details to! what shud i do??
Please be careful it is money laundering. I had same situation I had to transfer money to Ukraine via Post office.
Hi, I have given them my details about 10 minutes ago without even thinking to do some research first , Stupid I know. I dont even know why I did it because I work from home already on legit contracts. I havent received any funds yet, How long does this normally take ?? Really worried now.